“The supreme quality for leadership is unquestionably integrity. Without it, no real success is possible, no matter whether it is on a section gang, a football field, in an army, or in an office.”

– Dwight D. Eisenhower

TEXAS Shakespeare Festival – in our opinion the best cultural offering in East Texas – comes to the end of another season with Sunday’s performance of The Marvelous Wonderettes followed by the strike dinner Monday.

THANK you, Raymond Caldwell and John Dodd. Thank you, Matthew and Meaghan. Thank you, Festival Guild and thank you, Kilgore College.

ON the subject of big-time contributions and sponsorships (see Clements: Mike and Amy, Meadowbrook Classic), here comes Citizens National Bank. The Henderson-based company, owner of what was once Kilgore National Bank, this week committed to a major sponsorship of the Reel East Texas Film Festival.

WITH the absolute drop-dead deadline for entering the festival almost two months away, the event – in its first year – already has 10 feature films, 29 shorts, six student films and five screenplays. The festival is November 16, 17 and 18 at the Texan, the Crim, the Texas Broadcast Museum and the Old U.S. Post Office History and Art Center.

JUST when I think I’ve learned all the words I really need, someone mentions a peblum. Hello Isaac Funk. Hello Adam Wagnalls.

K CASTLES is correct – Kilgore is a city with an astonishing array of crape myrtles. Even at Kilgore College, where landscaping has suffered until the recent months, it’s been a glorious season for the crape myrtles.

NOW if we could persuade folks not to trim them back to the stump.

YASSER F. Zeid, M.D., an obstetrician-gynecologist whose practice was here until he moved it to Longview some years back, was elected to Texas Medical Association’s Council on Legislation. The Council on Legislation monitors and develops strategies regarding pending legislation and initiates legislative policies at the state and national levels to improve our health care system.


July 29 - C.W. Hayes, Ben Boyd, Albert L. Wells, Donna Vincent, Annie Johnson, Christopher Williams, Mary Cline, Twyla Clary, Miki Boyd, Toby Haydel, Shirley George, Edith Roberts

July 30 - Melissa Ramirez, Shareeta Mumphrey, Jacob Herrin, Jack Collum, Bettie Jo Roberts, Earl Ford, Bobby McFadden, Irene Farrar, Leah Owen, Mike Boatman, Taylor Dorsey, Ronda Lee, Ken Griffin, Pat Hughes, Mark Perry, Arturo Oritz Jr., Sylvia Yancey, Brandon Scott Seay, Darrell Sibley, Carrie Ross, Barbara Barton, Cailyn Pickering, Miasha Bell

July 31 - Brian Hearn, KevinFleining, Mabel Bean, Jenna Edwards, Trey Rosebrock, Andy Waller, Julie Yancey, Jay McClurg, Larry Emmons, Kimberley Roberson, Jason Andrew Crutcher, Marc Sechrist, J. Kinney, Stephen Jones, Gladys Marie Hall, Chris Moorman, Elmer Daniels Cotton, Twins Doug and Dan Sheridan, Gerry Austin Sr., John D. Montana

August 1 - Natasha Cline, Eloise Grafton, Christine Springer, Buddy Richter, Pat Swaim, Kelly Floyd, John Alton Walker, Mrs. J.H. Armstrong, Mary Matthews, Travis Armstrong, Jason Ware, Lonnell Pool, Jenny Tanner, Harry Rawls, Leonard Miller, Carroll Huffman, Mike Oglesby, Tim (Lee) Latham, Mrs. Talmadge Mercer, Stan Jamerson, Gloria Cubine, Shammion Nicole Young


July 29 - Mr. and Mrs. Jackie Clayton, Mr. and Mrs. Logan Horne, Mr. and Mrs. R.V. Davis, Terry and Jeanne Kramer

July 30 - Richard and Marti Fuhrman

July 31 - Tom and Peggy Clegg, Mr. And Mrs. Willie L. Clark Sr., Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Walker

August 1 - Mr. and Mrs. Amon Horton, John and Sue Smith


Special Sections