Red all-stars win baseball, Blue wins football

There were bragging rights all around for Kilgore-area athletes after the FCA’s Heart of A Champion all-star games over the weekend.

Kilgore’s Collin Pippen and Overton’s Nick Croteau were a part of the Red all-star team’s 11-7 win in the HOC baseball game Friday night at the University of Texas at Tyler’s Irwin Field.

In the HOC’s annual football all-star game on Saturday night at Longview’s Lobo Stadium, loyalties were divided, with locals on both teams. It was the Blue all-stars coming out on top, a 17-7 victory.

Kilgore’s Kevin Tinney (defensive line) and Cole Wood (receiver/tight end) were a part of that win for the Blue team, as were Overton’s Garrett Long and Jake Marshall. Marshall had an interception in the contest.

On the other end were Kilgore’s Melek Hamilton (running back), Dylan Scarlett (offensive line), and Sabine’s Collin Keifer and Slate Wiseman (both offensive linemen).

Hamilton scored the Red team’s touchdown to tie the game just before halftime. It remained tied until the fourth quarter, when the Blue team scored 10 points.

The football contest was instituted some years ago as a way of honoring graduated seniors, and since, baseball and softball contests have been added.


Ties abound in Mudbug Classic

The sixth annual Mudbug Classic, played last weekend at Meadowbrook Golf and Event Center here in Kilgore, allowed for plenty of bragging rights, including the top spot.

The teams of Bud Still, Jack Yates and Henry Houl tied with Alan Clark, Scott Schneider and Darren Hayes, each shooting a 118, on the championship flight.

Three teams tied behind them, each at 119: Bryan Baker, J.R. Ault, and Ed Leal; Brandon Ellis, Kyle Weatherby and Brent Bingham; and Adam McClain, Andy Ferguson and Hagan Wood.

Four flights were played, total. Cameron Boyd, Rusty Harris and their partner, Driver (no first name listed) shot a 119. The team of Jacob Grubbs, Justin Berry and Doug Rutland finished second.

On the second flight, it was Scott Clark, Bubba Clark and Scott Tyson shooting a 124 for the win, and on the third flight, Cody Smith, Richard May and James Scruggs won with a two-day 125.

There were also ties for second and third on the first, second and third flights.

The course is hosting the 55th annual East Texas Oilmen's Golf Association Classic, benefitting the East Texas Treatment Center, this weekend. And on July 7-9, the course honors its history with the 80th playing of the Meadowbrook Classic.


Special Sections