Sabine’s Goodwyn, Oliver win superlatives

as part of 16-3A district award-winners

Sabine High School’s Elyan Goodwyn was named the overall most valuable player in District 16-3A, as chosen by district coaches, and teammate Tray Oliver was named the offensive MVP.

In addition, Sabine’s Scottie Taylor and David Robinson were named all-district first team, and A.J. Gresham and Johnny Clopton, all-district second team. Savoy Goodwyn is honorable mention for coach Colby Carr’s Cardinals.

Earning academic all-district status for Sabine were Taylor, Gresham, Bre’den Ford and L.J. Mitchell.

For West Rusk, first-team all-district honors were earned by Talon Winings, and L.J. Harper was named all-district second team.

Myles Foster of the Raiders was named honorable mention.


KYSA sign-up Saturday, online available

The Kilgore Youth Softball Association (KYSA) is about to begin registration for its upcoming 2019 spring season.

KYSA has a Facebook page – KYSA Kilgore Softball – where there is a link to go ahead and register girls online right now. The first physical sign-up date is this Saturday, from 9 a.m. until noon, at the KYSA complex on Highway 135.

There will be a second sign-up date on Saturday, April 6, also from 9 until noon at the complex.

There is a registration fee of $100, and the association plans to have its regular season play April 22 through June 7.


KC opens conference this weekend

Kilgore College softball will open its Region XIV Conference season on Friday, a doubleheader at Northeast Texas Community College in Mount Pleasant.

Game one, as is standard, will have a first pitch of 1 p.m., with game two starting around 3 p.m.

On Saturday, KC makes a trip to Lufkin for another conference doubleheader, this one at Angelina College, also at 1 p.m. and at 3.

Coach Leslie Messina’s Rangers have been off since March 2 (after their crossover tournament in Longview last weekend was canceled.

The Rangers are 10-8 on the season, even with several cancelations due to bad weather, and are back home next Wednesday, March 20, to host Navarro in a doubleheader at The Ballpark at KC Commons, on Houston Street.


KCKL Big Bass tourney March 30-31

Cedar Creek Lake will be the site of this year’s 36th annual KCKL Big Bass Tournament the weekend of March 30-31 – that’s about 60 miles southeast of Dallas.

The tournament offers 120 cash prizes for bass weighed each hour and to the winners in the overall final standings. There are door prizes to be won at 3 p.m. daily.

Entry fee for adults is $85 per day. Youth entry fees (16 and under) are just $10, and youth contestants are eligible for all tournament prizes, including first prize.

The tournament is sanctioned by the Texas Conservation Society, and utilizes the lake release program, returning the fish back into the lake. Headquarters for the tournament will be Log Cabin City Park, located between Clear and Caney Creek bridges, about half a mile east of the intersection of Highway 198 and Highway 3054.

Contestants may enter by mail or at the lake For more information, call KCKL Bass at (903)-489-1346, or check out their website, kcklbass.com.


Gaston Museum fundraising tourney April 27

The 12th annual Gaston Museum-Terry Irick Memorial golf tournament, a four-person scramble, is set for Saturday, April 27, at Longview Country Club (also known as Buster’s), at 3275 State Highway 42, about four miles north of Interstate 20.

The tournament is a $50 per-person entry, or $200 per team, which includes a cart and refreshments. In addition, there are mulligans available on holes five and 14 for $2 each.

First place prize is $200 per team; second place is $100 per, and third place, $80 per. There’s a $50 closest-to-the-pin contest on hole three, and a $25 long drive contest on hole 12.

The first-class hole-in-one prize is back this year: two tickets to The Masters tournament in Augusta, Ga., as well as round-trip airfare, eight days/seven nights in a private home rental, and $1,500 in spending cash. That’s for anyone who gets a hole-in-one on hole 18.

There are also prizes for aces on par three holes of six, nine, 10, and 16.

Sponsorships are also still available for this year’s tournament. Anyone who’d like to sponsor is invited to call Andy Elliott at (903) 987-2217.

Proceeds from the tournament go to benefit the museum and its scholarship program. Last year’s scholarship recipient, of the John Morrow Scholarship, was Angela Spain, the granddaughter of James Spain, a 1945 Gaston graduate.

Winners last year of the scramble were David Ross, Paul Goettle, Rick Whitaker and Mike Graves.

For more about the tournament, e-mail museumoffice@gastonmuseum.org, and for more about the museum, check out gastonmuseum.org, or see the Gaston Museum page on Facebook.


Special Sections