Quartet of Cardinals named to all-district first team


Sabine did miss the playoffs for the first time in four seasons, but some members of the Cardinals were honored as a part of the District 8-3A, Division I all-district team.

Running back Glenn George, offensive lineman Jon-Michael McKinney, inside linebacker Kobe Renfro, and kicker Fernando Jaimes were all named to the all-district first-team, as chosen by the district’s coaches, including first-year SHS coach Rex Sharp.

Sabine’s Michael Taylor was named his team’s utility player of the year, and Scottie Taylor was named Sabine’s special teams player of the year.

In addition, wide receiver Sam Longhofer, offensive lineman Tristan Green, and McKinney were named second-team all-district (McKinney was second-team defensive line).

Other Sabine players earned honorable mention all-district: running back Eli Morris, wideout Clayton Simmons, O-linemen L.J. Mitchell and Tanner Foster, Green (on the defensive line), and outside linebacker Daniel Wood.

White Oak quarterback Heath Hood was named the district’s overall most valuable player.

White Oak’s Elijah Trest was named defensive MVP, and there was a three-way tie for offensive MVP (WO’s Bo Reddic, Redwater’s Lavondrick Vaughn and Jefferson’s T.Q. Jackson). White Oak’s coaches were named the coaching staff of the year.


Special Sections