Spradlin wins fifth term as mayor

Sneed nets contested KISD spot, Bagley gets full term as KC trustee


The fourth was with Mayor Ronnie Spradlin Saturday – constituents chose him for a fifth term in office with 68.7% of the Spring 2019 vote.

Meanwhile, Election Day saw Janice Bagley secure Place 7 on the Kilgore College Board of Trustees while former Kilgore ISD educator Dana Sneed netted a win for Seat 7 on the KISD School Board.

A handful of candidates also won re-election unopposed May 4.

According to the unofficial tally of votes released after polls closed at 7 p.m. at Kilgore City Hall, Spradlin collected 384 votes to 175 for challenger Victor Boyd, a fellow Kilgore City Council member.

For Spradlin, that includes 253 votes during early voting plus 131 on Election Day to 105 and 70, respectively, for Boyd.

Spradlin was first appointed to the council in 2006 to finish out an unexpired term. He subsequently won re-election to a full term and then, in 2010, was chosen to succeed Mayor Joe Parker in mid-term.

Owner/operator of East Texas Lumber, Spradlin won his first full term as mayor in 2011, unopposed, and was re-elected in 2013, 2015 and 2017, fending off a handful of challengers including Boyd two years ago.

Boyd joined the council as a write-in candidate in the Spring 2016 election cycle and was re-elected, unchallenged, in 2018. He last faced Spradlin for the mayor’s seat in May 2017.

Following Saturday’s result, Boyd will continue into the second year of his current term in the Place 4 seat.

Also on the city’s ticket, Mayor Pro Tem Harvey McClendon is looking ahead to another term in the Place 2 seat after he was unchallenged this election cycle. Mike Sechrist – Place 3’s interim after he was appointed to succeed the late Neil Barr in June 2018 – saw no challenge to securing his first full term on the dais.

In the Kilgore ISD race, Sneed collected 289 early votes and 160 Saturday, 449 of 658 votes cast in the KISD contest. Fellow newcomer Jason Smith netted 209 total, 120 early and 89 on Election Day. Sneed succeeds outgoing trustee Scott Montgomery, who did not run for re-election.

Also at KISD, Joe Parker was unchallenged in his re-election to Place 6, and newcomer Lloyd Vanderwater secured outgoing trustee Cindy Edmonds’ Place 5 seat unopposed.

At Kilgore College, Bagley was appointed to the board of trustees in June to complete the remainder of Bob Heath’s unexpired term in Place 7 (South Zone, Voting Unit 1). She earned a full six-year term in the seat May 4 with a sizable margin. From Kilgore City Hall’s numbers, Bagley drew 22 votes Saturday and 12 during early voting, 85% of the tally as she faced challenger Charles Robinson, Jr.

Vote tallies released by local election officials are unofficial until they’re canvassed by their respective entities later this month.


Special Sections