Woman's Club installs new officers


The Kilgore Woman’s Club met at the home of Linda Sartor on May 10. The serving table was decorated in shades of purple. President Wilma Jones called the meeting to order and thanked the hostesses of the day, Linda Sartor, Ruth Ann Camp, Jackie Fout and Patsy Abernathy.

The minutes were read by Secretary Carroll Bolton, and they were accepted as read. The treasurer’s report was given by Ann Patterson, and the report was accepted as given.

President Jones read a gracious thank you note from Francye Phillips on behalf of the Coterie Club for the luncheon.

Lawana Sistrunk thanked her social committee for the work that had been done for the luncheon.

Under new business, Jones read a letter from Roberta Boggs resigning as second vice president. Linda Sartor made a motion to elect Jackie Fout to serve in the position. The motion was seconded and passed by members. It was also discussed under new business the goal of helping our school children with school supplies. Last year we, as a community, served 800 children and would like to serve 1,000 this year. It was decided that Kilgore Woman’s Club would give $200 from the treasury and also give a love offering.

Sistrunk spoke about feeding the actors for the Shakespeare Festival.

Jones recognized and thanked her executive officers with a note and a beautiful charm or ring box. She also recognized all committee chairmen. Jones also recognized Peggy Bowne for the installation of officers. Bowne explained that a club is like a good meal -- it takes planning, preparation, and tools of the office. She concluded the installation by giving each new officer a spatula to help spread the work, the love, and the goodness of our club to all.

New officers installed are: Linda Sartor, president; Lawana Sistrunk, first vice president; Jackie Fout, second vice president; Ruth Ann Camp, secretary; Ann Patterson, treasurer; and Wilma Jones, parliamentarian After announcing the theme for next year will be “Voice of the Soul,” the meeting was adjourned with the club motto.

Those attending were Wilma Jones, Clemmie Richards, Lawana Sistrunk, Vernie Kunkel, Sylvia Nelson, Joan Still-Smith, Jackie Fout, Glenda Butts, Ellen Watson, Rosalee Floyd, Virginia Wallace, Martha Lee, Carolyn Kennedy, Jean Robertson, Eukie Gruetink, Deborah Tanner, Peggy Bowne, Linda Sartor, Ruth Ann Camp, Micah Mitchell, Lauren Cunyus, Patti Cunyus, Patsy Abernathy, Ann Patterson and Carroll Bolton.


Special Sections